I know, I know. It’s been forever. Almost a year exactly since I wrote my last post.

When I returned from my year abroad last August, I didn’t know what to do with this Spanish-themed blog. And then life happened; a new job, so many winter months with no fresh produce to inspire me. Then I talked about starting a new blog to more aptly reflect my life now (not in Spain anymore), but it just hasn’t happened yet. I’m still thinking of starting that blog. If you have a name idea, let me know. “Txurros y txocolate”, I understand, is kinda hard… (hint: the “tx” represents “ch” in Basque).

Anyway, fall it is again, my favorite season (though I do so love summer, too, but fall feels special). Last weekend I went apple picking with some friends at the Jonamac Orchard in Malta, Illinois, about an hour west of Chicago.

Me and Rebecca (you never realize how short you are until…)

I went home that evening excited to make something delicious, but rolling out pie dough after a day of apple picking felt too ambitious, so apple crisp it was. Do you have a spare half an hour? Some oats, brown sugar, flour and apples, of course? Then you can make apple crisp, too. It’s simple:

Mix the dry ingredients: six tablespoons flour with half a cup brown sugar.

Add six tablespoons room-temperature butter.

Add half a cup of oats.

I sliced three apples relatively thinly (with their skins on), and sprinkled cinnamon on top of each layer, as well as two tablespoons of maple syrup.

Sprinkle the oat mixture on the top, then bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes or so.

Voila! I don’t need to tell you that this is extra amazing with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on the side.

