Sadly, this blog has seen little action over the past few months.

This is soon to change!  I’ve been in Mexico for the summer, but I’ve only got about a week left.  I’m excited to get in my own kitchen again.  I’ve got many recipes I want to try.

I’ve been thinking of where to take this blog from here.  My year in Spain is over, and thus this blog will no longer focus exclusively on Spanish food (although, did it ever?)  I’ve still got many Spanish recipes to make, including gazpacho (indispensable for the hot summer months), an incredibly rico recipe for Sopa de Ajo from Milagros, etc.  Other than that, we’ll see… “txurros y txocolate” is no longer a Spain-based blog.  Any ideas as to where to take it from here?

For now, I leave you with this.  Mexicans are fans of “botanas” — little snacks.  I, too, am a fan of botanas.  Mexicans believe in the holy trinity of lime + chile + salt.  I too believe in the holy trinity of lime + chile + salt.

The papá of the house where I am staying prepares a little “botana” for himself while watching TV, a “botana” that takes plain cucumbers to a whole new level.

Cucumbers + lime + chile + salt

He uses a powdered chile called “Tajín”, a popular brand in Mexico.  The spice is present but not too strong; “es para niños”, (“it’s for kids”), he said, as I hesitated to bite into the first Tajín-sprinkled cucumber.  The ingredients on the bottle are: ground chile, salt, dehydrated lime juice.  I’d imagine this would be a product readily available in the U.S., though I intend to pack a bottle or two in my suitcase.

So, this simple recipe is: slice cucumbers, sprinkle with sea salt, squeeze lime juice on top and dash with Tajín or ground chile.

¡Provecho!

