I love tomatoes, especially in soup or sauce: seriously, given the choice, I WOULD eat them in some form every day, and have gone through periods where I have. I’ve lately been really into eating tomato soups, and thus, dusted off this recipe. My mom made it a few years ago, and it is AMAZING. It’s a recipe originally from Michael Chiarello (of Food Network fame); his recipe includes fresh basil, I omitted it in mine.

I got these tomatoes, onions and garlic from the Andersonville farmers’ market, where, as luck would have it, I’ve ended up working at the past few weeks. My roommate had a friend working with Hillside Orchards, and she hooked us both up with jobs. The Andersonville market ended this last Wednesday, but the Division Street Market is still taking place every Saturday until October 30th.

You’ll need twelve tomatoes (about four pounds), sliced and quarted; twelve pieces whole, peeled garlic, and one yellow onion.

You also need 1/4 cup good-quality balsamic vinegar. This balsamic vinegar was a gift from last Christmas in Italy, and I’ve been treasuring it.

Toss the tomatoes and garlic with the balsamic vinegar and 1/4 cup of olive oil, salt and pepper.

Roast in a very hot oven (500 degrees fahrenheit) for 35-40 minutes. Remove and let cool a little.

Saute the chopped onion until soft, 8-10 minutes.

Combine tomatoes, garlic, onions and two cups of water and simmer for ten minutes.

Blend with an immersion blender (alternatively, you could blend small batches in the blender).

Voila! Extra good topped with homemade croutons.

