Greetings!  I know it’s been forever; the truth is this blog has been for the most part abandoned (let’s not forget the last posts before this one were written in October & November, and the posts before that, a year before that).  But I’ve been busy, busy.  I’m working on a project which shall be unveiled shortly (suspense), and taking a photography class, learning how to use my new DSLR, which is great fun.  I plan to start a new blog this summer, so stay tuned.  😀

Shall I mention that it already feels like summer here?  Okay, maybe not summer, but certainly spring.  I spent last week in San Francisco, and Friday, an old friend of mine from college, David, and I sat in Dolores Park, with our cups of ice cream from Bi-Rite Creamery in hand, and, for the first time in months, I actually felt the warmth of the sun. That week in San Francisco was just lovely over all, and I was a bit dreading returning to Chicago’s 30-degree days, but… it’s felt like spring, in the 60s all week, even supposed to get up to 70s tomorrow.  (For those who don’t know, springs in Chicago are basically just a continuation of winter, and it really doesn’t start warming up until May at the earliest.)

I first went to San Francisco exactly ten years ago, in 2002.  I was still in high school, and it was a trip with my family.  At the time, I swore that San Francisco was the place for me, and that I would move there some day.  In the intervening ten years, life has taken me everywhere but San Francisco — including living (briefly) in London, (twice) in Madrid, a summer in Mexico… everywhere but San Francisco.  Finally, I decided enough was enough, it was time to go back, so I booked a ticket.  I stayed with a good friend from college there, and hung out with other friends who had migrated out there.  

But a lot has changed in ten years; certainly my perspective has.  Back in Chicago, I walked down my tree-lined street that first night, and thought: This is exactly where I want to be.  I’m glad to be in Chicago and not San Francisco, as lovely as it was.  Right now, I feel that I am exactly where I should be.  

